The 2020 pattillo Whanganui Arts Review is coming | Sarjeant Gallery Whanganui
24101
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-24101,bridge-core-1.0.4,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,vertical_menu_enabled,side_area_uncovered_from_content,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-18.0.6,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_top,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.0.3,vc_responsive

2020 pattillo Whanganui Arts Review

entry form here

2020 pattillo Whanganui Arts Review:

Key dates:

Tuesday 18 February 2020 10.30 – 4.30pm     Submission day
Thursday 27 February 2020 10.30 – 4.30pm    Collection of unselected work
Friday 28 February 2020, 6 – 8pm                     Awards night
Saturday 29 February 2020                                  Opening day
Sunday 17 May 2020                                              Closing day
Monday 18 May 2020, 10.30 – 4.30pm              Collection of exhibited work

 

The annual pattillo Whanganui Arts Review is the longest running event of its type in the country. In 2020, the Sarjeant Gallery is thrilled to produce the 32nd edition of this much-loved open call exhibition in partnership with Anne Pattillo and her company pattillo. Also supported by a strong group of Whanganui businesses, this year’s Review offers 11 merit awards of $200 each, 2 excellence awards of $1000 each and an Open Award of $5000. In addition 2020 sees the launch of the pattillo project – a solo artist showcase exhibition at the Sarjeant Gallery awarded to the Open Award winner.

 

pattillo project 2020: dr kathryn whiteman

Opening day: Saturday 15 February 2020
Closing day: Sunday 3 May 2020

 

Dr Kathryn Wightman, Austin, 2019. Winner: 2019 pattillo Whanganui Arts Review Open Award and pattillo project 2020

 

Eligibility:

The pattillo Whanganui Arts Review is intended to be a true reflection of the Whanganui region’s creative energy. It is open to artists of any age, who live in the Whanganui region, including Ruapehu and Rangitikei and all areas that link to the Whanganui River. Works of all media are acceptable for entry – though due to space issues very large works are discouraged.

Please see the map below which indicates the areas eligible for entry to the 2020 pattillo Whanganui Arts review.

Entry Fees:

$30 or for current Friends of the Sarjeant Gallery or any student with Student ID $15.

Got a question? Here are some frequently asked questions:

Q: Can I have some feedback about my work?
A: The judge will make comments about the award winning pieces at the Arts Review awards presentation at the opening night. Feedback on works not selected to receive an award will not be available.

Q: My work won’t be ready on submission day.
A: Unfortunately no works can be accepted after submission day.

Q: I haven’t heard if I have been accepted or not, what shall I do?
A: Letters or emails will be sent to each artist via the email and postal addresses supplied on the submission form. We will also upload a catalogue with all works included in the Arts Review exhibition to sarjeant.org.nz/arts-review. Works not accepted into the Arts Review must be collected from Sarjeant on the Quay on the collection day date stated.

Q: My work was not accepted into the Arts Review exhibition, but I cannot collect it on the collection day – what can I do?
A: A nominated person may collect your work for you, with prior written consent. Collect it as soon as you can. Works will not be stored at the Gallery one month after the collection date

Q: My work was not accepted into the Arts Review exhibition, can I get a refund of my entry fee?
A: No. As stated on the entry form we are not able to refund entry fees due to the staging costs involved in the Arts Review.

Q: Can I donate my work to the Sarjeant Gallery collection?
A: No.

Q: I don’t want it to be for sale.
A: That is fine, please leave that section of the entry form blank.

Q: What is the criteria for selection into the Arts Review exhibition?
A: The selection panel is made up of three people who work in the art world, these people change every year.

Q: What could I win?
A: There is one $5000 Open Award which comes with the offer of the pattillo project – a solo artist showcase exhibition for the winning artist the following year (or time to be decided in consulation with the Sarjeant Gallery). There are two $1000 Excellence Awards and 8 Merit Awards worth $200 each.

Q: Do I have to accept the pattillo project solo artist showcase exhibition if I win the Open Award?
A: No. You can refuse the pattillo project.

Q: If I refuse the pattillo project would I forfeit the $5000 prize money?
A: No.

Q: What is the Arts Review judge’s criteria?
A: Each year a different judge takes on this honour and each individual will have a differing set of criteria. All invited judges are respected gallery professionals and experienced in viewing and selecting works for exhibition. The judge will make their decision from the works selected by the selection panel for the Arts Review exhibition.

 

See all about the 2019 pattillo Whanganui Arts Review here